When you purchase a motor vehicle (new or used), you are required to pay the applicable taxes and apply for title in your name within 30 days of the purchase date. This is true regardless of the condition of the vehicle. If you wish to drive the vehicle, you must also obtain valid registration (license plates). When you become a Missouri resident, you have 30 days to title your vehicle.
Most Missouri license plates require an expiration year tab, which is color-coded and includes the expiration year of the registration. The tabs are issued when a new or renewal registration transaction is processed. Enhanced tabs are issued at certain license offices. The enhanced tabs display a vehicle’s unique license plate number directly on the tab itself--allowing law enforcement to quickly and easily detect whether the tab on the vehicle matches the license plate.
You may renew your license plates online, by mail, or at any Missouri license office. To renew your license plates, you will need:
NOTE: A $5 renewal penalty will be charged if you renew your plates after the expiration date.
For details visit the Missouri Motor Vehicles site.
Vehicles on City streets must be licensed, registered and in operable condition--except in emergencies. If there is a licensed vehicle in the same place on the street for 5 continuous days, police may order it towed after 4 unpaid tickets have been issued. Derelict vehicles generally means a vehicle that does not operate or is in such condition as to be a public safety hazard.